Burnaby lake park

Burnaby lake park was not what I expected. It is a park in the suburbs about 25 minutes from downtown Vancouver. When I thought we might be going to live in Burnaby, I had expected that the park would be a great place for Chris, Mikayla and I to walk and for me to run. I think I expected something similar to Lilydale lake at home – a busy park with a good playground, barbecue facilities and a great walking track and beautiful – because everything over here is beautiful. But beautiful it is not…

Burnaby lake - a bit bland?

Burnaby lake park-10

I expect that every season it looks a lot different, so we’ll have to go back to check it out in autumn (fall).

Burnaby lake park

According to the website, it is meant to be a great place for bird-watchers.

Burnaby lake park-13

The walking / running path is about 10km around the lake. To be fair, there were glimpses of beauty and looking at the photos to come, you might be wondering what I am talking about when I say it is not beautiful. If you click on the collage, it becomes a slideshow:

Funnily enough, when we started the walk, I said to Chris “at least we don’t have to worry about snakes here” and what do we see, not one, but two snakes….

Burnaby lake park-9

The good news is, that these snakes are not poisonous. Apparently they are common garter snakes. We spoke to a couple walking around the lake who said they had been running around the lake for 10 years and had never seen a snake there. We were just ‘lucky’!!

One thought on “Burnaby lake park

  1. Pingback: Deer Park Lake | Canadian adventure

Leave a Reply

